Happy Jelly Roll Quilt

Well, I finally finished the jelly roll quilt that I started ages ago! It´s the biggest quilt I´ve made so far, it´s for my granddaughter’s bed which is a single bed, but I want the quilt to reach the floor on either side, so it´s quite big. My behind the scenes helpers had a bit of a problem in holding up the quilt properly, and there was a fair amount of moaning and complaining going on 😀

20181209_124336

Initially, I bought a roll of  Heather Bailey – Nicey Jane collection, but then I had to buy another roll to finish the quilt, but I still have loads of strips left over to make matching cushions or whatever, I haven’t decided it.

20181209_142914

The backing is a plain cotton bed sheet. I needed to cut down on the cost of fabric and the work in having to piece the fabric to the size of the quilt top, so a sheet was the answer for me, bought a king size sheet and trimmed it to size.

The binding is a lime colored Kona solid. The quilting is straight lines on the white background, I didn’t quilt the jelly roll strips, because I want it to pop out a bit.

20181209_124454

I´m quite pleased with how it turned out, the colors are bright and airy, and will make for a happy room.

20181209_143318Thanks for the visit, Have a bright happy day.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Happy Jelly Roll Quilt

  1. Anonymous says:

    The quilt is absolutely lovely, Alice! Once again congratulations on this beautifully done quilt. I’m sure Isabella will enjoy it as she grows bigger! Well done my friend! 🌺🌷🌸

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.