Elephant Parade Quilt

Finished my elephant parade quilt! I came across this pattern at Sew Fresh Quilts – Lorna is an absolute genius when it comes to patterns, especially animal patterns. When I saw this pattern I just knew I had to make it, it just reminds me sooo much of home!

IMG_2528[1]

For the big Ellies I used a batik fabric that I have had for over 20 years, it was bought in Mozambique, and in my younger days, when I didn’t have any money to buy Picasso, it hung on my lounge wall, actually I still don’t have money to buy Picasso 😉 somethings never change…..Anyway since I grew out of my  bohemian decorating style, the batik has been  packed away, so now I took it out and with some sadness at cutting it up, and yet… happy that it was getting a new revamped life, I went ahead and cut it up.

IMG_2555

I must say that I was worried, that It would be too hard to make and that I would lose heart, but Lorna´s instructions are so precise and easy to follow that I made it, Yay me!

 

IMG_2556

 

I quilted with wavy lines, and because I wanted some loft  I spaced them 5cm apart (2 inches), for the binding I used both fabrics from the Elephants, big and small.

I´m gifting this quilt to my daughter Andi, who loves animals especially elephants.

I must say that making this quilt was a wonderful challenge, I love the way it all come together, and will probably try my hand at the giraffe pattern soon.

Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “Elephant Parade Quilt

  1. Lorna McMahon says:

    Your parade is such a happy quilt! I really enjoyed reading about the story of the fabric and how it holds so many old memories for you. And how it will be a part of many new memories for your daughter! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alice says:

      I Thank you Lorna for sharing your amazing pattern, and giving me the opportunity to make this quilt and sharing it with my family. I absolutely love your site!

      Like

Leave a Reply

